Teaching | Deep Breath: First Year, Entering Week 7

Yes, Week 7. I realize I started a blog with a whole section for teaching, then was silent for the first 6 weeks. I initially considered that something that needed remedying, then I realized that the silence actually tells my story. It sums up my first month and a half: too dazed to write, too busy to write, too searching-other-people’s-blog to write.

Now, I’m catching my breath. It’s a quick breath, but at least it’s a breath.

And what I have time to say with that breath goes to all first-year teachers to remind you that you’re not alone:

I’m hanging in there.
Occasionally I feel like I’m failing.
Now and then there’s an awesome breakthrough.
Sometimes there’s a minor success.
Then usually another minor failure.
There are hopeful thoughts of next year. I’m determined not to quit.
Then I remember the things I resolved that I still haven’t accomplished. Will I really make next year better?
But mostly, I think the kids are learning something and won’t be scarred forever by the mistakes I make (thanks, Meg Anderson, for that reminder!). They’re pretty forgiving that way.
And mostly, I’m still hanging in there.

If I say, “My foot slips,”
Your mercy, O Lord, will hold me up.
In the multitude of my anxieties within me,
Your comforts delight my soul.

Psalm 94:18-19

Want to read more about the first three months of school year? If you’re a new or veteran teacher, check out this article and this one

Leave a Reply

